Uncategorized

When mom is sick …

There is nothing in life that really prepares you for what it’s like to be sick when you are the parent of young kids. Maybe there is some special ops training in the military that comes close, maybe.

After going through morning sickness three times for thirteen weeks each time, I think I’m tougher than I used to be. It takes a lot to keep me in bed. Not to mention that it’s not really possible with 3 kids.

I was sick Monday – Thursday this week. Mostly just a fever, headache and generally feeling worn down. I was back in soup mode and tried out two new soup recipes. Here is the one that is a keeper!

I found this on a cute blog called gimmesomeoven. I love that name!

20 minute cheesy enchilada soup 

It actually only took 20-30 minutes! I feel like it always take me longer than the recipes touts. I made a few adjustments because, while I love spicy, the little guys don’t. They won’t go near it if it even looks or smells spicy.

Here are the changes I made:

  1. Even though I bought mild enchilada sauce, I still only used half of it.
  2. I substituted shoepeg corn for the green chilies. I love green chilies and don’t think they are that spicy but I wasn’t taking any chances…my kids are very serious about the whole spicy thing.
  3. I used rotisserie chicken. I have been doing this a lot lately. They’re a great price, taste yummy and are already cooked! Yes please! This soup would also be great vegetarian/vegan just add a few more veggies.
  4. The masa harina is actually very easy to find. It’s with the normal baking flour in all grocery stores. It really adds a lot to the flavor of this soup.

I forgot to take my own pictures, but they wouldn’t look as beautiful as the ones on her site so enjoy! Everyone loved this soup, it’s a definite keeper!

20-Minute-Cheesy-Chicken-Enchilada-Soup-5

YIELD: 4-6 SERVINGS
20-MINUTE CHEESY CHICKEN ENCHILADA SOUP
This delicious chicken enchilada soup is thick, cheesy, and ready to go (once your ingredients are prepped!) in just 20 minutes!

PREP: 5 MIN COOK: 15 MIN TOTAL: 20 MIN
INGREDIENTS:

2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 cup diced white onion (about 1 small white onion)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup masa harina (corn flour)
3 cups chicken stock
2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
1 1/4 cups (or 1 10-ounce can) red enchilada sauce, homemade or store-bought*
1 (14-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 (14-ounce) can diced tomatoes, with juices (I prefer fire-roasted)
1 (4-ounce) can chopped green chiles
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
8 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, freshly grated
1 teaspoon salt, or more/less to taste
optional toppings: tortilla chips/strips, diced/sliced avocado, grated cheese, sour cream, chopped fresh cilantro, and/or pico de gallo
DIRECTIONS:

  1. Heat the oil in a large stock over medium-high heat. (To save time, peel and dice the onion for the minute or so that the oil heats.) Add the onion and saute for 5 minutes, or until cooked and translucent. Add the garilc and saute for an additional minute until fragrant.
  2. Stir in the masa harina and cook for an additional minute.
    Pour in half of the chicken stock, and stir until completely combined. Add in the remainder of the chicken stock, and stir to combine. Immediately add in the chicken, enchilada sauce, black beans, tomatoes, green chiles, salt and cumin, and stir until combined. Continue stirring occasionally until the mixture reaches a simmer.
  3. Reduce heat to medium-low and let it simmer for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally so that the soup does not stick to the bottom of the pan. Then stir in the cheese, one handful at a time, until combined. Taste, and season the soup to taste with salt.
  4. Serve the soup warm with desired toppings.

 

Hope you like it as much as we did!

Contact: laurenskijones@gmail.com

 

 

 

Let me know your thoughts