Uncategorized

Mom Manicure

Before kids, I used to love getting pedicures. I popped over to the nail salon every 2-3 weeks, all summer long. It was easy peasy and something I really enjoyed. Now, the scheduling involved in getting to the nail salon is just not worth it. It would have to be my day off, on a day when Luke is also off because I definitely can’t pay a babysitter just to go get a pedicure. The trouble is that I am off on the weekends and Luke works most summer weekends. If he happens to get a weekend day off, we’re having a family day.

So, I’ve been working on the art of self-pedicure. It turns out that I really don’t mind doing it myself. Don’t get me wrong, I dream about the good old days of having me feet and legs massaged! But for now, I can appreciate the “pampering” myself aspect of it and I love the results, even if they’re not perfect.

Here are some tips if you happen to be in the same boat as me and getting to the salon is more work than just doing it yourself. 

 I spring for the nice nail polish. It doesn’t clump and goes on nice and smooth. Here are some of my favorites. I’ve heard that you are supposed to get new nail polishes every year or two but I always keep them for longer than that. I usually get 2-3 new colors every year.  
Here are the “tools” I use. You can usually get most of these as part of any manicure kit.  

The process:

  1. Soak your feet in hot water. This makes it easier to get all the dead skin and cuticles off.
  2. Use a pumice to scrub off the dead skin around your toes.
  3. Trim your nails and use the scissors or nail trimmer to get the extra skin right around the tops of your toes…the yucky skin that’s hard and kinda sticks out. 
  4. Apply the cuticle cream. Wait a minute then use the flat scrapper thingy (purple with black top in picture above) to push your cuticles back and scrap off flaky nail bits.(Eehww, this all sounds so gross when writing it out!)
  5. Use the nail brush to scrub off the cuticle cream and just generally get your nails clean. I usually stand awkwardly with one foot in the sink for this step. This is the last step before painting. 

Here is what a pedicure session usually looks like around here, much to big Luke’s chagrin! 

Here is my current color: ESSIE #705 lilacism. You can tell it’s not perfect but no one will ever be this close to my feet!  

Let me know your thoughts

