Cleaning · Life

Cleaning with Kids

messykids

If you ever thought that your kids were the messiest people on the planet . . .

If you ever thought that you could win the prize for messiest boys room . . .

I’m here to tell ya friend, that prize goes to us. We are the winners for messiest room and messiest boys. Ya’ll, I don’t even know how this happened. I just walked in the other day and was like, “OMG!” This didn’t happen in a day or two days, maybe not even a week (Confession: their room does not get cleaned more often than once per week!). I think I have mommy goggles. The kind of goggles that allow me to look past the mess so that I can enjoy my kids sometimes without worrying about the cyclone we’ve created.

I have a couple of good friends who are so good about neatening up their houses and their kids rooms on a daily basis. They put a few toys away at bedtime and voila, their rooms stay pretty neat. I strive to be like them! It would be so much easier to put a few things away everyday than to spend two hours cleaning one room. That is how long it took me to get this bedroom under control.

I usually like to get them involved with the clean up. I think it’s important that they know how to clean and “take responsibility” by cleaning up their own messes. However, this one was so massive that I did it when they weren’t home.

547621_10150925614050689_787587269_nThe Before Pictures . . .

Their room is actually pretty cute when you can see it. And they like to play in it when they can find things . . . like the floor!

img_7184img_7185img_7186

I am printing out this checklist tomorrow and putting it in their room. I think it will make cleaning so much easier when they are involved. Luke hasn’t quite mastered readingΒ  yet, so I put pictures beside each prompt.

Books on BookshelfStuffed animals in slingDirty clothes in laundry basketClean clothes in drawers, Drawers shut.Toys in correct bins.Shoes in shoe bin.Trash in trashcan. Empty trashcan.T

 

If you are interested in this cleaning list, I can email an easy to print PDF to you. I can also edit it to your specific needs if you’re interested. Just let me know! laurenskijones@gmail.com

Do you have any great tips for keeping the mess under control? I’m always looking for new ideas.

Follow me on Instagram @laurenjcorbett and Facebook @embracingtheessentials.com

lauren-1

 

 

 

Let me know your thoughts

