Eats

Key Lime Pie Bliss

I have a pretty serious sweet tooth. I blame my grandmother. She was known for not just trying one desert from the buffet but “sampling” all of them. Her samples were full sized servings for most. Sweets just run in my family. They’re tradition. They’re post and sometimes, pre meals. Cake for breakfast anyone?

img_7313-1

Now, I know sugar is not good for you. But that is another post. This post is about the best Key Lime Pie that you will ever taste.

I discovered this recipe in a Southern Living magazine a couple of summers ago. It was simple and only required about 6 ingredients. If you are following my blog, you know that I am all about simple…as long as it’s yummy too. I don’t post anything unless it meets those criteria. I have plenty of recipe fails, trust me. But I keep those to myself and my trusting guinea pigs aka family, sorry guys!

This recipe is TO DIE FOR. Luke thinks that I should start selling them. I am normally a choc-o-holic. Somehow, I married a man who prefers fruit pies and cobblers to rich chocolately deserts. This pie is the perfect marrying of our tastes; fruity, rich and creamy. And it’s so easy to make! You can make it even easier by using store bought crust. The homemade is better but if you’re in a hurry, store bought will do the trick.

The only modification that I made to the original recipe is to double the filling. I use the same amount of crust but felt like the ratio wasn’t quite right, plus it was really thin. I also use graham cracker crust rather than buttery round crust. Here is the link to the original recipe but I will warn you that it is so crowded with ads and pop-ups that it’s hard to read. So I am posting it below with my modifications.

Keylime Buttermilk Icebox Pie

Key Lime Buttermilk Icebox Pie

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325°. Whisk together first 3 ingredients in a bowl.

  2. Beat egg yolks with a handheld mixer (I use a kitchen aid mixer, not a handheld and it works fine) in a medium bowl at high speed 4 to 5 minutes or until yolks become pale and ribbons form on surface of mixture when beater is lifted. Gradually whisk in sweetened condensed milk mixture, and whisk until thoroughly combined; whisk in buttermilk. Pour mixture into prepared crust.

  3. Bake at 325° for 20 to 25 minutes or until set around edges. (Pie will be slightly jiggly.) Cool on a wire rack 1 hour. Cover pie with lightly greased (with cooking spray) plastic wrap, and freeze 4 to 6 hours.

  4. Top with sweetened whip cream. I usually make it from scratch because it’s so easy and delicious.

     

Crust

Ingredients

  • 1&1/2 cup crackers
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt (omit if using buttery rounds)
  • 6 tablespoons melted butter

Directions

  1. Process crushed cookies or crackers, sugar, and (if used) salt in a food processor until finely crushed and well combined. Add melted butter, and process until thoroughly combined. Press on bottom, up sides, and onto lip of a lightly greased (with cooking spray) 9-inch regular pie plate or 9-inch deep-dish pie plate. (I used a spring form pan this time but have used a regular pie plate in the past. I like the spring form because you can see the crust and it’s just pretty.) Freeze 30 minutes to 1 hour or while preparing fillings.

Since this pie is meant to be frozen, it’s perfect for making ahead of time.

Enjoy!

lauren-1

 

Let me know your thoughts

