Eats · Inspiration · Pregnancy

Meal Prep ~ Freezer Session 1 ~ Lasagna

I have big plans to prep and freeze a bunch of meals before the baby comes. Let’s face it, no one brings you meals when you’ve had your fourth baby . . . they’re like, “Geez, I’ve been bringing her meals for years!” HA! Meals that we have been super grateful for, by the way! And I get it, most of my friends work and have kids of their own, it’s hard to find the time to prepare meals for your own family, much less for other people. I’ve actually added some great recipes to my repertoire from the meals my friends have shared. My goal is to make one extra meal per week until the baby comes, which would give us about 18 meals. Honestly, 14 is my real goal because LIFE.

Yesterday I did the dreaded trip to the grocery store with my three little maniacs. They did much better than last time. Mama didn’t have to eat half a dozen donuts afterward! I let them play with my phone which is something that I rarely allow so it was a treat for them. They took some pretty terrible pictures of me that I’m glad didn’t get accidentally posted to Instagram of Facebook. Stay tuned for my next Funny Files post. Against my better judgement, I am going to post one of the photos.

Saturday I made a double batch of lasagna; one for dinner and one to freeze.

turkey-and-veggie

Turkey and Veggie Lasagna

This makes 2- 9×13 in pans. The five us of can get two dinners out of one pan.

Ingredients

  • 3 jars pasta sauce (I only bought two and I was at least a 1/2 jar short)
  • 2 lbs turkey
  • 3 squash sliced (we like lots of veggies in our lasagna)
  • 2 zucchini sliced
  • 1/2 red pepper diced
  • 1 onion diced
  • 18 lasagna noodles (I cooked an entire box but didn’t end up needing that much)
  • 1 large container of Ricotta cheese
  • 1 bag of parmesan cheese
  • 1 bag of 4 cheese Italian cheese

Directions

  1. Cook noodles.
  2. While noodles are cooking, cook turkey. When turkey is almost done, add 2 jars of pasta sauce. When finished, remove to a large bowl and set aside.
  3. While turkey is cooking, chop veggies. Cook veggies in same pan that you cooked turkey in. (I only have one large skillet that will hold this much food so I had to use it for both the turkey and the veggies.)
  4. When everything is cooked, start layering. First put down a light layer of turkey and sauce mix, top with noodles, then ricotta, then veggies, and finally cheese (I mixed the cheeses together). Repeat one more time. Then put one final layer of noodles, top with sauce only and finish with cheese.
  5. If you are eating one for dinner, pop it in the oven at 350 for about 25 minutes. You might need to cover with foil toward the end so that cheese stays bubbly and doesn’t dry out.
  6. For the batch you are freezing; follow all the steps above. Cover tightly with foil, label and freeze.

img_7104

I ended up not using all the veggies pictured.

img_7105

YUM

img_7109

The layering process

img_7112

Finished product before putting in the oven. This is also how it will look if you freeze it.

img_7115

Don’t forget to label!

Throw together a salad or garlic bread and you’ve got a meal!

img_7116-1

Everyone complimented this dinner but at the end, the boys were like, do I have to eat this zucchini? If your kids are picky about vegetables, put them in the food processor before cooking them and “hide” them in the sauce with the turkey.

If you are trying to do this while your kids are home/awake (as most of us moms would be), be prepared for this . . .

img_7108

They poured water into their “kitchen sink” and were making a crazy mess.

img_7106

She found a random cup of yogurt left over from someone’s snack and was wandering around the house eating it. I’m a good mom.

I am on the hunt for other good meals to freeze. I am planning to cook a chicken pot pie and a couple of quiches but I would love some more recommendations. Email me at laurenskijones@gmail.com

Love, Lauren

 

 

2 thoughts on “Meal Prep ~ Freezer Session 1 ~ Lasagna

Let me know your thoughts

