Eats

Noodle Bowl Craze

Have you guys heard about the noodle bowl craze? I feel like every restaurant we go to these days features a noodle bowl or two. I first tried one on a trip to Asheville a couple of years ago. It was pretty strange – poached eggs and hot and cold veggies on top of noodles… weird. Except it was yummy. Since then Luke orders a noodle bowl almost every time he sees one.

He was in Austin a couple weeks ago and had one that was so yummy, he texted me about it! That’s when I decided to give it a try. Another mom friend and blogger, Natalie, is always posting yummy recipes. I used one of hers for inspiration and I researched a few others. I essentially ended up making my own but it needs some work.

img_6779

If you are considering a noodle bowl check out the following links
Here are the things that turned out yummy with mine and why I will be trying this again.

1. I love veggies. I cooked some and left others raw. You can essentially use whatever veggies you like so have fun with it. I used green onions, sauteed bok choy, shredded carrots, chopped raw cabbage, shiitake mushrooms sauteed with shallots and fresh ginger (YUM!) and poached eggs.

2. This was a great way to get tons of veggies in my kids. They loved building their own bowls and they piled on the veggies. Even the cabbage, it’s purple so what’s not to like?

3. Poached eggs– I have never poached an egg without an egg poacher. Follow this simple recipe to poach an egg without a poacher. It was easier and turned out better than I first thought.

4. Pick your noodle wisely. I used soba and they were delish. Ramen would be good too.

5. Find a good recipe for the broth. I tried to wing it with veggie broth, soy sauce and ginger. It was good but not outstanding. This was the main area to improve. Next time I will use chicken broth, I like the flavor better and I will simmer these things plus garlic together a little longer. Try Natalie’s recipe here, I have a feeling that her broth is yummy.

lauren-1

Let me know your thoughts

