Christmas · Eats

Christmas Parties, Parades and Breakfast

Today I am having the rarest day ever . . . I am on my own, no kids, no husband from 9am-4pm! I am using this time to do my last house clean and food prep before Christmas. Work has been crazy, which is a good thing but I’m tired at the end of the day and cleaning is pretty far down on my list of priorities these days.

The boys last day of school was Friday. Luke got to wear pajama’s to school and have hot chocolate and cookies and watch Christmas movies. He was so excited. All week he kept asking me when is Friday?! I went to Fleet’s Christmas party on Friday. I loved getting to do this. He was so happy I was there and he sat in my lap the whole time. I wrapped my arms around him and tried to treasure this rare time with just him. We made snowman popcorn cups for the party. I picked these from the list of food options because they looked easy, they weren’t but they did turn out cute!

+

We had a neighborhood parade on Sunday that turned out to be so fun. I couldn’t believe how many people came out. Everyone decorated golf carts, bikes, strollers and wagons with lights and garland. The funny thing was that no one was really watching the parade because we were all in it . . . this was a hard concept for the kids to grasp. I think that they prefer watching parades and scooping up the candy that is thrown out.

Luke went a little crazy decorating the golf cart. I think he used every decoration left over after we decorated the house.

This is what Elle did the first time she saw the golf cart all lit up. She loves Christmas lights. Every time we pass a house with a bunch of lights she says, “Whoa!”

Best bike decorations

img_6536img_6538img_6551

I mentioned a while ago that I would share my Christmas morning breakfast with you. I love these recipes because they are easy and delicious.


Coffee Cake

You can make this a day or two ahead of time but be careful because your husband might eat the whole thing before Christmas. This really is just cake, putting “coffee” in front of it just makes me feel better about eating it. I got recipe from a friend of my sis-in-law.

Ingredients

  • 1 Box Duncan Hines butter cake mix
  • 1 small instant french vanilla pudding
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp butter flavoring

Mix well and set aside

In another bowl mix

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (I usually leave these out)

In 2 round 9 inch baking pans or one 9×11 sheet pan, sprinkle thin layer of sugar mix on the bottom, then a thin layer of batter mix. Repeat, finishing with sugar mix. Twirl with a fork. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes.

You can top with icing but I find it’s plenty sweet and delicious without it. For the icing- mix 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp butter flavoring and 1/4 cup milk.

Crockpot Egg, Ham and Spinach Casserole

I made this for Elle’s first birthday brunch in May. It is not the most delicious breakfast casserole out there but it is healthier than most. It has greek yogurt and lots of veggies which is practically unheard of in a breakfast casserole. I usually prep everything the night before and then sneak out to pour it in the crockpot about 5 am on Christmas morning. Click here for recipe.

4 days to go . . .

Let me know your thoughts

