Birthday · Eats · Life · Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving Food, Fun, Family

This week, I have many blessings to count. I am thinking of two in particular, one of my BF’s, Katie and my Dad both have birthdays this week. My Dad turned 72. I used to think that 72 was so old. Actually, I used to think that 35 was pretty old and here we are! My dad is a spectacular person and not just in the way that kids love their parents. He has always been the voice of reason and optimism in my life. He is so often able to see the important things in life when I cannot. I sit beside him everyday at work and this has been an amazing gift for the last 7 years. Everyday I get to work and he asks me how I am doing, how the kids are doing and then he sits back in his chair and waits for me to relay all the details of my crazy life. Witnessing the way my Dad loves (my mom, myself, my brothers and many more) has taught me so much about how to love, unconditionally, with forgiveness and passion. So, Happy Birthday to Bomb Daddy. And my BF Katie, we’ve been through a lot together and I have a feeling that we’ve only just begun.

img_6348

img_6355

 

Here’s what’s been going on over the last week.

Marsh walking near our house.

Oh my goodness, these two.

I tried my hand at spaghetti squash. It was so interesting. I made a recipe from Pinterest that was very creamy and garlicky. I’ve never had spaghetti squash before, it was yummy. I can see how it could be a good substitute in any pasta dish. Get recipe here.

img_6273

Here are the pics I promised of green bean casserole. Doesn’t it look so fresh?! You must use real green beans. If you think about the origins of Thanksgiving, and I’m not talking about stealing land and lifestyle from Native Americans, I’m talking about the foods that we traditionally eat, they are in season – squash, apples, green beans. These foods were eaten because people used to eat what they farmed. I’ve always thought that was interesting whereas now we can easily access most foods whether they are in season in our area or not. (By the way, it took 3 lbs of green beans to fill a 9 in square dish plus a small batch in a bread loaf pan.)

I made two batches. We ate one for dinner that night and I froze the other for Thanksgiving.

I settled on Banana Pudding for Thanksgiving desert. I made this this summer for my FIL’s wedding weekend but barely even tasted it. This recipe is yummy, I highly recommend it. It doesn’t require any baking and it’s light and fluffy, but don’t mistake “light” for low fat! Get the recipe here.

We had a lovely and very laid back Thankgiving. My MIL came over and we ate all the delicious food, played outside (it was beautiful here!) and just generally felt grateful to be together.

I have a couple of other good recipes to share for breakfast, specifically for Christmas morning breakfast that are easy and yummy. I am all about enjoying my family over the holidays so at this point in my life, the less time spent in the kitchen, the better.

holiday-quotes

I hope that you had a wonderful Thankgiving. And now, on to CHRISTMAS!

One thought on “Thanksgiving Food, Fun, Family

Let me know your thoughts

