Crafts · Eats · Fall · Life · Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving Menu + Kids Craft

Thanksgiving Menu

We are going all out on the traditional Thanksgiving meal. YUM. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Why do we never make these foods any other time of the year? I’m pretty sure it would taste just as yummy in May! Anyway . . .

  1. Turkey – Duh!
  2. Dressing – My MIL is making this. It’s her mother’s recipe and it’s soooo yummy. This is one dish that I have never made. It seems complicated.
  3. Gravy – My MIL is making this also. Her gravy is amazing. It’s salty deliciousness make with the turkey drippings.
  4. Green Bean Casserole – I have a delicious green bean casserole recipe to share with you. It is OFF THE HOOK good. The key is to use real green beans rather than canned. Shared below.
  5. Mashed Potatoes – A coworker recently told me that he messed up the mashed potatoes one year by adding three times the amount of butter. He said they were amazing and he was going to “mess them up” again. I plan on trying this. I basically just boil a bunch of potatoes and then add heavy ceam, salt and butter until desired richness is achieved!
  6. Rolls – Does anyone have a brand of rolls they would recommend? I won’t be making these from scratch. My SIL made this amazing cornbread a couple of years ago. If I have time, I might try it.
  7. Desert – I am thinking about making this super decadent looking chocolate bundt cake. Look at this picture! Yes, Please!

pina-colada-bundt-042

. . . I feel like we need one more casserole. Squash casserole or even a cold broccoli salad.

Green Bean Casserole – I will post some pics after I make it, which I plan on doing this weekend. I adapted my recipe below from this recipe.

Prep 30 min    *    Cook 55 min    *    Ready in 1 hr 25 min

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1/3 cup onion, diced
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • a large amount of green beans, probably 4 heaping handfuls, they will cook down. I like this recipe to be heavy on the green beans so use less beans if you prefer that it’s heavier on the sauce/casserole side.
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar
  • 1/2 cup buttery rounds (Ritz)
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Break ends off of green beans. Steam them to desired tenderness. I like mine to still have a little body and not be totally limp. Drain and set aside for use in next step.
  3. In a large, separate pan, melt 3 tbsp butter over medium heat. Stir in the flour until smooth and cook for one minute. Stir in the salt, sugar, onion and sourcream. Add the green beans and stir to coat.
  4. Transfer the mix to a 8 or 9in square glass casserole dish (or equivalent). Spread cheese over top.
  5. In a small bowl, toss together the cracker crumbs and remaining butter and sprinkle over the cheese.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes or until top is golden and cheese is bubbly.

Thanksgiving (1).png

I mentioned last week that the kids were asking about decorating the house for Thanksgiving. I looked up some simple crafts on Pinterest and I decided on making a Thankgiving Tree. It never hurts to be reminded of the things you are grateful for. They were a little hesitant at first. “We have to trace our hands?” “We have to cut these out!” “We have to write.”  . . . You’d think I was trying to torture them rather than organizing a fun activity that they had actually requested. Once we got going, they really enjoyed it. It turned out to be a fun thing to do together and some of their responses to “Things you are grateful for” were pretty interesting. Lil Luke is very grateful for SNOW. It got two hands. Poor guy, has only seen snow once and he was about 1 year old so there is no way he remembers it.

To make your tree . . .

Supplies

  1. Red, Green, Yellow and Orange construction paper.
  2. Large sheet of plain white paper. I used white roll paper from our easel but a large piece of poster board would work to.
  3. Pencils, markers, crayons
  4. Scissors
  5. Glue
  6. Tape (to tape your tree up wherever you decide.)

Steps

  1. Cut your large white paper or poster board to size and hang. Draw a tree trunk on the bottom half.
  2. Trace your kids hands on the construction paper.
  3. I was able to layer the paper, 3 sheets at a time. So for each hand I cut out, I got three hands.
  4. Write what you are thankful for and glue them onto the tree.

Tip: Don’t use spray adhesive glue. It doesn’t hold well and even when dry, it discolored the construction paper.

Even the littlest Bits participated.

Fleet was grateful for “apples, pens, ages and birthdays.” He said that without “ages” we wouldn’t really be here. His other hand says, “Months, weeks, years and healthy foods.”

They loved it so much that they wanted to continue making Thanksgiving crafts.

I’m going to a Thanksgiving program at Luke’s school tomorrow so that should be interesting. He says that he doesn’t know what song he is supposed to be singing. The kids are out of school all next week so that should be a wild and crazy week!

One thought on “Thanksgiving Menu + Kids Craft

Let me know your thoughts

