Clothing · Fall · Halloween · Life · Music · Writers

Southern Writers + Jazz + Precious kids

I LOVE southern writers, specifically from the Lowcountry. I can always relate to at least part of their stories. I am in the process of making a list of all the authors I love and the books they have written. I want to read them all. Here are my favorite southern/lowcountry authors:

Dorothea Benton Frank – ADORE her. I’ve read all of her books and a few of them, I’ve read twice. Most of them are pretty light hearted (like Nicholas Sparks) but a couple of them are deeply woven tales dwelling into the intricacies of human nature. If you’ve never read anything by her, start with Sullivan’s Island, which I believe is her first book and in my humble opinion, her best.

Mary Alice Monroe – Her books usually have a conservationist edge. I started with Skyward and I’ve read a few other since then.

Bret Lott – Bret is a professor at CofC, my alma mater. He is the head of the Masters of Creative Writing program which I believe is a new program. His book, Jewel, was an Oprah Book Club book. It’s an amazing story. I’ve read a couple others but plan on reading them all.

Josephine Humphries – This lady is brillant. She’s a Charleston native who went to Duke and Yale. She’s won several awards for her writing.

Pat Conroy- I think we all know who he is. My mom took me to hear him speak at a Spoleto event many years ago. I need to re-read all of his books.

and many others.

If you have any recommendations, let me know!

JAZZ

There is something about fall that just calls for Jazz. If I try to play jazz in the spring or summer, it always feels out of place. Why is that? It is probably my favorite genre of music so I love when fall comes around. Here are a few of my favorite artists and songs. I also have them as stations on Pandora. I blare these stations through the house every afternoon that I’m home.

Diana Krall – This was my parent’s “song.”

Here is a lesser known song of hers that I have always loved. There are some people in my life, that I could “drink a case of” and it would never be enough . . .

Michael Buble

Queen Latifah – that’s right folks, she’s not just hiphop, her voice is amazing . . .amazing. Listen to this and be prepared to pick your jaw up off the floor

And if we’ve been friends for a long time, none of this will surprise you. Some things never change. My love of these guys is one of them.

Halloween Prep

We’ve been gearing up for the big day. Here’s what we’ve got so far:


Funny

There is so much to keep up with as the mother of three children (forget wife, employee, boss, friend, etc). I forget things all the time: doctor’s appointments, treats in lunches, school dress-up days. This week is “Say No to Drugs” week. I have never really liked this week because I hate to even introduce the idea of “drugs” to my kids. They’re like, “What are drugs?” I’d rather save that conversation until they are old enough to have some idea of what is being talked about. However, we have made the choice to send them to public school and that is part of the deal. Anyway, I digress. They have to dress up differently every day this week. AND it’s different at each school. For example, on Wednesday, Luke is supposed to wear his favorite sports team t-shirt and Fleet is supposed to wear pajamas and bring a teddy bear. Ya’ll, it’s hard to keep up with all this. On Sunday, I went through both of their lists and laid out all their outfits for the week, it only took about 2 hours to gather everything.

I got home from work yesterday after the kids were already in bed. Big Luke says to me, “Fleet said that everyone was wearing orange today.”

I said, “Well, that’s strange, kindergarten was supposed to wear red today.”

He says, “He’s not in kindergarten.” Yes, that’s right, he’s in first grade. Even when I plan, I still mess it up. Geez. I was able to have a good laugh over this one though. Usually I feel like crawling into a hole and having a good cry.

I just have to say, for the record, that Elle is at such a cute age right now. I look at her all the time and think that it doesn’t get any cuter than right now. It’s ridiculous. She’s so precious and full of wonder. Watching her learn to walk and holding her little hand have been so joyful for me. Here she is going down the big kid slide this weekend. She went down about 5 times. If her brother’s are doing it, she wants to do it!

 


We kayaked near our house on Sunday. We found a little beach at the end of a creek that our neighbors live on. We found 40 shark’s teeth in 10 minutes. And no, I am not telling you where it is! Ha!

I like to rearrange furniture. Actually, I LOVE it. It’s like getting a new room and a fresh perspective. It’s energizing. Luke teases me but he always likes the change. The kids love it too, they are hilarious. If I even mention that I am going to rearrange furniture they beg me to do it right now! I switched our den and dining room so that the couch would be near the fire place. We had our first fire on Sunday night and it was so cozy. I can’t wait for more.

I did not teach him this, by the way. I remember singing this as a kid and my parents having to explain that it wasn’t really polite to say this when trick-or-treating.

 

planning-eng-quote2x

 

Let me know your thoughts

