Eats · Fall · Funny

Dreams + Fall Fare + Andy’s

“I’ve got dreams, dreams to remember” Otis Redding

This past weekend we went to the Carolina Surf Film Festival. Luke has been surfing since his freshman year of college (16 years ago). He loves it. It feeds his soul and I get it.

This film festival is a very grass roots event. It’s in it’s third year. There are a lot of local films and smaller production films that are shown and compete for awards. They have booths set up with local art, surf shops, non-profit water related organizations and of course, food trucks and beer. It’s an outdoor event with a huge screen and chairs set up amphitheater style. What is so inspiring about the event is that every film, every shot, every wave, is someone’s dream. Tonight I sat and watched two female productions featuring solely female surfers. I was mesmerized, they were amazing. I watched them thinking that this was someone’s dream. And tonight they are getting the rare recognition and even rarer, praise for their hard work and ultimately for pursuing their dream. As many of us know, pursuing your dream is no joke. It’s hard. It’s risky. It involves sacrifice, a lot of sacrifice, and it doesn’t pay off often. But tonight, even if just for tonight (though I think that many of those people will continue producing films and that this festival will grow) their dreams are realized and that is just spectacular. The main participant that I know, Kate Barratini, wrote, directed and surfed in a film. She won an award for it. Her comments about the film and surprise and humble and gracious acceptance of the award were truly moving.

Here are links to the Film Festival and non-profits involved (Click the logos for more info)

logo150px

1the
Charleston Waterkeeper

surfrider

shakaIf your kids want to learn to surf, this is the gal to teach them!

Here are my stars on the red carpet

By the way, we saw some people at the Festival who said they didn’t recognize my kids because they weren’t in pajama’s or costumes. HAHA! That is how we roll on the weekends and we always see them on the weekends. I also realized that they were wearing Halloween shirts so they were still a little in costume!

Luke asked me on the way home from school on Friday if your dreams really do come true at Disneyworld. I died. So cute. Then I heard him say to himself, “Yeah, but not all of them.” I am definitely curious about what these other dreams are.

I made a couple new recipes this week that turned out really yummy.

Oktoberfest Sheet Pan Brats and Roasted Veggies (click for recipe)

Luke said this recipe reminded him of New Zealand. I guess they eat a lot of brats and roasted veggies over there. I made a few substitutions to this recipe. I used 2 sweet potatoes, 3 stalks of celery, 4 carrots, 1/2 onion and a head of cauliflower for the veggies. The caraway seeds were really interesting, I have never cooked with them before. This was a good recipe for mixing things up a bit but it wasn’t as yummy as the one that follows.

plate2

Tortellini Tomato Soup with Italian Sausage


This was especially delicious. It was very simple to make. Beans (especially white beans) could easily be substituted for the sausage.

Prep time 10 mins
Cook time 40 mins
Total time 50 mins
Ingredients
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 lb Italian Sausage
  • ½ cup diced onion (about ½ medium sized onion)
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1-28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1-32. oz. box of vegetable broth (chicken works too)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh chopped basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 1 package tortellini (I used the larger size and should have added more broth or tomatoes too)
  • 1 cup packed fresh spinach
Instructions
  1. Heat a large, heavy bottomed pan over medium-high heat. Heat vegetable oil and add diced onion. Saute until onions are soft.
  2. Crumble Italian Sausage and garlic with the onion. Cook until sausage is no longer pink.
  3. Stir in crushed tomatoes, vegetable (or chicken) broth, basil, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, and cover. Let soup simmer for 20-30 minutes.
  4. Add tortellini and spinach and simmer for about ten minutes, until pasta is tender.
  5. Serve with shredded Parmesan.
Neither of these are original recipes so please click the links to see the originals and the creators.
The boys and I went to Columbia this weekend to have our teeth cleaned by Dr. Bubbie. The kids had a blast with the cousins. I took them to Andy’s Deli, a Columbia classic. I loved seeing Andy and his sons there. These guys are staples of the city. All I have to say is “Hello My Dear”  . . .
andys
This is where Luke and I went on our first “date.” I remember it well, sitting across from him so early in our relationship and in our lives. It was probably the first place we went without friends in tow. I love this memory. It was fun to share it with the boys.
28ed32c928ccb0d32234b86b16a926f8
Let me know your thoughts

