Funny · Life · Music · Shows

Idiocy + shows and music + misc

Have you ever said something so dumb that you feel like you should be locked in a closet and never allowed in public again? I do this at least a couple times a year. Let me tell you about the most recent one . . .

A couple of months ago (yes, it was months ago and it is still haunting me) I was at a friend’s house for a last minute birthday party for their son. I didn’t know anyone else there though everyone I met was very nice. A group of four girls, myself included, were sitting around talking. The election came up and jokes were exchanged about moving to New Zealand or Canada to escape the crazy politics here. One of the girls is from Canada and she started talking about why Canada is so great. Several things were mentioned, including Justin and the fact that he used to be an embarrassment but is looking pretty good lately.

Let me ask you . . . If you heard “Canada . . . Justin . . . used to be an embarrassment but is ย getting better” . . . who would you think of? I don’t know much about politics, especially the politics of other countries. I immediately chime in that I recently heard one of his songs and was singing a long without realizing it was him. Maybe he’s not so bad? Everyone looked at me for about 2 seconds and then continued the conversation. About 1 minute later, I realize that they were talking about the Prime Minister of Canada, Justin Trudeau, not Justin Beiber. Yep, that’s right folks, the prime minister not the super famous pop-singer. I sat through a few more minutes of that conversation feeling like the world’s biggest idiot and trying very hard not to run away and find a closet to hide in.

Why is it that such silly things can haunt us for so long? I called my mom from the car and she tried to comfort me, “No one would know who the prime minister of Canada is!” She is kinda right but I still felt ridiculous. I’ve been trying to let this moment go but I am always my toughest critic!

Here is some advice for moving past these “moments of idiocy” that I really wish I could follow:

  1. There are worse problems in the world and even in my own life that I could focus some of the energy I am using for self-shaming.
  2. If those people think I am an idiot, it really is none of my business. ย One of my favorite quotes: “What other people think of you is none of your business.”
  3. It won’t be the last time I say something embarrassing so get over it or get used to it!
  4. If I let the worry of saying stupid stuff keep me from participating in conversation, I won’t have any friends and that sure seems lonely.
  5. We’ve all done it. Those people who I embarrassed myself in front of, they have been in my shoes, maybe not as often, but they’ve been there. So, in theory, they understand and hopefully won’t judge me too harshly.
  6. This story actually makes for a really funny conversation piece so I should appreciate that about it.

***********************************************************************

Moving on . . .

We recently finished The Last Kingdom on Netflix. It’s based on the the life of Uhtred, son of a Saxon lord who was raised by Vikings in the 11th century. I highly recommend it. I like historical fiction, novels and shows. Bernard Cornwell has written a series where Uhtred is the protagonist that I plan on reading.

p12079367_b_v9_ac

***********************************************************************

I am really loving the Wood Brother’s station on Pandora. This station plays Van Morrison, Avett Brothers, Lumineers, etc. Here’s a song by Forest Sun that I heard today . . .

image-1-4

***********************************************************************

I’ve made it to the gym three times this week for 5:30am classes. My neighbors really motivated me. Those chica’s are hard core! I have been limping around for the last three days because the classes are no joke! My body is sore but it feels pretty awesome to get such a great workout. If I’m going to get up that early, you can bet that I am going to give it my all. Also, I wouldn’t be able to do it without Luke. He gets the kids up and ready so that when I get home, I just put them in the car and take them to school.

***********************************************************************

I love these outfits for Elle. With a pair of leggings, they would be so cute! Shrimp and Grits Kids is a local company that makes really cute kids clothes. I have gotten outfits for the boys from here when they were younger. They specialize in smocked and appliqued clothing but I am really loving these mix/match pattern dresses.

***********************************************************************

Luke said the cutest thing at the barber shop the other day. He picked up two toys and said, “Look Mommy, it’s two okra’s.” It was two orcas. I didn’t know he knew what an orca was. This one is full of surprises.

It was raining all day and we had a rough afternoon with the kids. After helping Fleet with his homework, Luke wanted to do some “homework” and Elle wanted some Mommy time. ย It was one of those many moments as a parent of three that I wished I could give each of them my full attention more often than I am able to. They are all so precious and so deserving. We put them to bed at 6:30pm and I laid down on the bed and was asleep and drooling in about 30 seconds.

18e5e4845010e4fee28777987ee489b1

2 thoughts on “Idiocy + shows and music + misc

  1. I can’t stop laughing at this post (and at myself) because my first thought was, “Justin Timberlake isn’t from Canada, is he?” LOL! So I would have been right there with ya ๐Ÿ™‚ Not sure why he was referred to by just “Justin” anyway, I’m used to people in politics being called by their last names ๐Ÿ˜‰
    And you are my role model for going to the gym so early!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES! Who call’s their president/prime minister by their first time, especially when its such a common name! I mean, I get Barak, but Justin? haha! Gym- proud of myself but exhausted today . . . what I wouldn’t give for a nap!

      Like

Let me know your thoughts

