Uncategorized

First steps + last day of summer

Big day today! Bitsy took her first steps. She will be 15 months old on Monday. Here she is . . . (This was a spontaneous moment so the adults might not be camera ready!)

Back to School prep has been pretty intense this year. As we are set to start school tomorrow I am feeling ready and prepared. It’s been a lot of work but I think that come tomorrow morning, I will be glad that I did all that prep. Here is a look at what’s been going on . . .

Everyone got some new clothes. Luke was the main person who needed new clothes since he will be wearing a uniform next year. Bitsy will be going to preschool once she can walk so she got a few new things too. I purchased a few things for Fleet but he didn’t really need much. Here is a quick snapshot.

img_4678

Old Navy has been having a huge sale. I got these things for Fleet and Elle plus another pair of leggings and a dress all for under $30.

img_4832

Luke’s mom purchased all of lil Luke’s uniform clothes. She shopped at Old Navy, Target and Kohls. He is going to be looking pretty sharp!

img_4842

I found some treasures at the second hand shop for Elle. There are some great deals here but you do have to be careful. They had leggings from Old Navy that were more expensive than the ones I bought brand new. It’s at least a good start for her. I don’t really know what kinds of things we will need once she is going to school. I am starting to look for her first pair of shoes. Does anyone have any good recommendations? I was thinking about TOMS. The boys wore soft soled shoes like Robeez at first and then upgraded to KEENS. I think she will need a harder sole than Robeez (for school, the boys didn’t go to school this young) and KEENS aren’t as cute as I would like for her first pair of shoes . . . silly, I know but she’s my girl and I get to be silly if I want to be!

Lunch prep has been full speed ahead. I would like to be more creative this year. Last year it was pretty much pbj, carrots and fruit. I don’t like eating the same thing everyday so I feel like I should mix it up for them too. I found a blog on Pinterest with some great ideas. Here is the link. I thought the pizza dippers, turkey skewers, hotdog muffins and banana wraps were all good ideas. Skewers could be a bad idea for school . . . could that be considered a weapon? Maybe I will steer clear of that one!

Lunch-Ideas-for-Kids

We are starting the week with black bean, rice and cheese burritos. I set up an assembly line for the burritos. They will get a burrito, boiled egg, carrots or cucs with humus and applesauce or fruit this week.

img_4846

I also made cookies that my niece posted on instagram a few weeks ago. She is quite the baker. She has an instragm called carlycakesss @carlssjones . . . follow her here. She loves sweets and baking so I consider her to be a little bit of an expert in this area. They are eggless chocolate chip cookies and they are delish. I am always looking for a really good cookie recipe and I won’t declare this my favorite until I’ve made it a few times and still love it. I like really gooey cookies so I undercook them and then pop them in the fridge and eat them cold. Luke likes crispy cookies so I always overcook a few batches for him. These cookies will be the treat in the lunch boxes this week. Here’s the recipe from a blog called keepinglifesane . . . we can all relate to that, right?!

Eggless-CC-Cookies2

The Best Eggless Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (or more):)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350F
  • Beat the butter with both sugar for 1 to 2 minutes, until creamy with an hand mixer.
  • Add in flour and baking soda. Mix.
  • Add water, oil, and vanilla and mix.
  • Fold in the chocolate chips with a spoon.
  • Drop by spoonful  onto the baking sheet.  I usually do about 1-2 tablespoons and put 12-16 on the cookie sheet.  Here are the ones I have and I LOVE them!

What are they going to put all this food in?

They are pretty hard on their lunch boxes so we get new ones every year. I can never seem to fully wash the spilled milk out and they are f.u.n.k.y by the end of the year. I pictured Elle’s a week ago. The boys got new ones, courtesy of Tutu (Luke’s mom). They got to pick them out so that was pretty exciting and interesting. Fleet picked the plain one which was a big surprise because he made a fuss about wanting a Star Wars lunchbox.

img_4843

We have had these little stainless steel containers for 3 years now and they are like new. We use them every day. They aren’t cheap but they are so worth it. I feel like I would be buying several containers a year if we had plastic ones. They don’t get funky or hold food smells or residue. Find them here. I need to order one for Elle.

img_4844-1

Last Day of Summer

I would say that fort building has been the theme of the summer. We’ve built and cleaned up forts every single day this summer. Many days we’ve had forts in the living room, dining room and the boys room. We had to stop the living room forts a few weeks ago because we hadn’t sat on the couch or seen the living room floor all summer. We built one last summer time fort today. The boys declared that it was the best one yet.

I have gotten some really positive feedback since I started this blog. My Aunt and mom send positive messages to me often. One of my friends texted me the other morning that she got up early to work out, something that she hadn’t done in a while, after reading Workout Wonders. Another friend messaged me about applying to write for Charleston Moms Blog (which I haven’t decided if I am going to do). I was so flattered that she thought of me. Not to mention that I didn’t even know about this site! My MIL even gave me her ice cream maker after reading that I wanted one. I am so grateful for all of this! THANK YOU! Thank you for reading, thank you for telling me about it. PLEASE keep it coming. I really am so interested in what you like or don’t like – email me, follow the blog, comment on the blog, post on my Facebook page!

 

437b6ae17ade263b26b909f193103037

I tried to find one that said “Kick Fanny” but somehow it just didn’t have the same effect!

 

Contact: laurenskijones@gmail.com

One thought on “First steps + last day of summer

Let me know your thoughts

