Uncategorized

Lake Life

I’m sitting on the patio at the lakehouse right now enjoying a few moments of quiet while Elle is sleeping and the boys are swimming with their Daddy and Papa (Luke’s Dad). I haven’t slept well the last few nights because I have been worrying about the school year. It’s one of those situations where when awake, you know that everything is going to be just fine. The dropping off and picking up, the homework, the getting up early and rallying the troops . . . it’s all going to be fine. But at 3am, it seems there is no possible way this could work out fine and will most assuredly be a total disaster; oversleeping, missing morning bells, forgetting homework, being too tired to pack lunches. I guarantee that all of these things will happen over the next year, but they will be the exception not the rule. Try telling that to myself at 3am. It’s pointless. Why is that? That all of our worries are magnified by 1000 in the middle of the night?

We are having a lovely time at the lake. Papa and Natalie are selfishly forcing us to sleep in the same house as our children (haha) while they sleep in the other house with all of their sick animals. Actually, I’m not sure which is worse. Kids falling out of bed or cats scratching the litter box in the middle of the night. I do love animals and know that I will want them again when my kids are gone so maybe I am destined to never get a full nights sleep again. Ha!

We aren’t without animals right now, Dakota our 14 year old terrier, wakes us up scratching every night. I am just “without” the desire for more pets.

We have been at the lake for 48 hours now and I have just started to relax. Why does it take a couple days to get in vacation mode? Last night we put our kids to bed at a reasonable hour (7:30pm) and enjoyed an adult dinner. They were exhausted and fell right to sleep. We had a slow dinner with great conversation. Luke’s dad and his fiancé, Natalie are getting married at the end of September so we talked honeymoons and vacation. They have both traveled extensively and had a lot of interesting perspectives and experiences. Between the two of them, they’ve been to all the places on my bucket list . . . Bora Bora, South Africa, Santorini and about 100 more.

Here are a few pics from the lake.

img_4740img_4739

Lake Thurmond is an Army Corps of Engineer’s Lake. It’s very undeveloped. I love looking around and seeing trees instead of houses and buildings.

img_4755

Luke just started reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone to the boys. They seem to be enjoying it.

To make you feel my love…

Does anyone know this song? I have always loved it. Adele recently recorded it but I prefer the Garth Brooks version. The song was written by Bob Dylan. I hear this song in my head sometimes. When I left for college (more years ago than I care to mention) I gave small gifts to my parents and my brother. My brother’s gift was a framed picture of us as children. Around the frame I wrote the lines from this song, “When the rain is blowing in your face and the whole world is on your case, I would offer you a warm embrace, to make you feel my love.” The song goes on to say . . .”There ain’t nothing that I wouldn’t do. Go to the ends of the earth for you. Make you happy, make your dreams come true. To make you feel my love.” This song came on my Diana Krall Pandora station tonite. I couldn’t help but think about my babies because “there ain’t nothing that I wouldn’t do” to make them feel my love. And I meant it for my brother too.

Here are the two versions I mentioned . . .

Adele

Garth Brooks

I just finished Jim Gaffigan’s book. He’s hilarious and relatable as he is in the thick of childrearing. And I do mean the thick of it . . . he has 5 kids! It was a quick read and I actually laughed out loud a few times.

51sCx89vcbL

 

31525_20131112_160412_funny40

Seriously

Let me know your thoughts

