Uncategorized

Lowcountry Dinner & more

We had some friends in town recently and cooked a true low country dinner. Here’s the menu:

Watermelon, Boiled Peanuts, Tomato Pie, Grits, Shrimp with cocktail sauce and Blue Crabs with melted butter and Blueberry Cobbler for desert . . . my mouth is watering.

Tomato Pie

I don’t really follow a recipe for tomato pie. I use a premade pie crust (no time for “from scratch” with three kiddos at your feet). Slice, drain, and pat the tomatoes “dry.” Layer the tomatoes and any other ingredients in the pie crust. I like sautéed onions and black olives and sometimes spinach in mine. Make a filling out of mayo or plain yogurt and spices and pour it on top. Top with cheese and VOILA!

img_4141

Here’s a pic of Luke picking out his one grocery store goodie. (See “Expectations” post.) Yep, it’s the candy isle and yes, candy will rot their teeth and make them sugar addicts and essentially ruin their lives but it makes grocery shopping so much easier and is therefore worth it.

img_4457

I just thought this little picture of Bitsy taking a picture was so cute. I love watching her try to use things that she sees us using.

Here are a few pieces of jewelry that I have made with some of the supplies I posted a few weeks ago.

Leather, seed beads, shells and pewter.

The one on the left is a remake of a necklace that my friend Sarah bought years ago. It broke and I asked her if I could redesign. I love the way it turned out. I wanted to keep it for myself! I love the other two necklaces. I kept the one on the right for myself and put the other for sale in The Backpacker. The one in The Backpacker took me about 6 hours to make. I strung and then braided those strands of seed beads.

I found this light fixture at the Habitat ReStore yesterday. I am super excited about it. It’s perfect for Elle’s room which has an original to the house fixture right now, i.e. super outdated and not in the way that is coming back into style!

I know it’s the wrong season for it but I’m making chicken noodle soup for a friend and it turns out big Luke and Fleet are a little under the weather today. I love this soup from scratch. It’s so easy and delicious. I cooked a whole chicken in the crockpot and then shredded it. If I’m really busy or lazy, I just shred a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken. Chop your veggies (carrots, celery, onions) and add them to the broth. You might need to add some water to the broth also. Add the chicken at the end. Boil the noodles seperately. I keep the noodles separate until it’s time to eat so they don’t get soggy. I love egg noodles. Serve with cheesy bread and you are sure to feel better in the morning. 

img_4498img_4516

Luke’s dad came to town this week for a few days. We had dinner at Maybank Public House one night. It’s in the old Mustard Seed spot on Maybank Highway. I was pleasantly surprised. I had the Beet Salad, Luke had the California Burger and the boys split the Traditional Burger. Everything was delicious, including the truffle fries, yum. They also had a great beer selection.

Luke’s Dad and sister are pretty talented musicians. Fleet has been taking guitar lessons for about 8 weeks and has been doing great. We really like his teacher. He comes to our house. Most weeks he has flashcards or other specialized “homework” for Fleet. He has learned “Skip to my Lou” and I think they are working on “You are my Sunshine” next. This is a favorite for us. We sing it most nights before bed. Big Luke has been trying to teach himself guitar as well. I think he started learning so that he could be more helpful to Fleet but has enjoyed getting back into it. He’s been practicing several nights a week. Papa (Luke’s Dad) got Fleet a nice, perfectly sized guitar for Christmas.

img_4469

We went to the beach early this morning and had such a good time. Big Luke was pretty happy to catch a few waves with this brave girl. I was proud of the boys, they paddled pretty far out on their boogie boards, took a few good tumbles and got right back out there.

At the beach this morning, I went out swimming by myself for about 10 minutes. I haven’t been swimming in the ocean, sans kiddos in a LONG time. Too long. It felt great. Tonight the boys are spending the night with Gigi and Baba (my parents) and we are getting a sitter for Elle and going swimming again.

Have a great weekend!

Let me know your thoughts

