Uncategorized

Peer Pressure

 

I was thinking last night about some of the small instances of peer pressure that we had to deal with last year. Small things mostly. Here are a few examples . . .

We had a couple boys over for Fleet’s birthday and I asked them if they wanted some garlic bread with dinner. Fleet’s hand shoots up and he yells, “Me!” The other two boys look at each other and say, “Gross.” Fleet says, “Never mind, actually I don’t want any.” It broke my heart!

When we were planning Fleet’s birthday party I asked him what kind of cake he wanted. He said, “Well, my friends really want me to have a star wars cake.” I was like, “Well, what kind of cake do you want, buddy?”

As an adult, these examples seem like such small things. They are peer pressures that don’t address any major threats like drugs, alcohol or sex. However, I know that they are just the beginning. Now is the time to lay the groundwork and start the conversation about staying true to yourself and always trying to do what you know in your heart is right.

We had many conversations last year about friendship. We encouraged Fleet to find people that he had things in common with and to focus on the friends who wanted to play with him. We had some pretty big upsets over some little girls that didn’t want to play with Fleet. I mean, what was wrong with them anyway? . . . I didn’t say this, well, only to big Luke. Geez, this parenting thing is hard.

Peer pressure and friendship go hand in hand, don’t they? True friends, the ones who know you and love you, aren’t going to peer pressure you into awful things. I know this from my own friends. The best ones, the lifetime ones always helped me to make the best decisions.

This summer has been a nice reprieve from dealing with some of these issues. We’ve been in a little bubble of our select friends and family. With the school year coming up, I expect (there’s that expectation thing again!) that we are going to have to confront more issues related to peer pressure and friendship. I want to put some more serious thought into this and maybe do some reading to empower myself to best help them. I don’t want to talk badly about other children, ever. This can be tempting sometimes when someone isn’t being nice to one of them . . . mama bear has to control her claws. I want to talk more about behavior than the person. I want to focus on the fact that we can’t control other people and their behavior. We can only control ourselves and our actions and reactions. This is something that I struggle with regularly. I want to encourage them to always do and say what they feel is right to the best of their 5 and 6 year old knowledge. I want them to know that I am always here for them, always on their side and always, always will be.

So, here’s to this school year being about more that reading and writing. And here’s to this family doing our best to rise to the occasion.

A few fun pictures and videos for you . . .

I’ve let the boys pick out their own clothes all summer. Here is an example of the things they pick – orange matches orange and blue matches blue, right?

They helped me make the grocery list the other day. I was especially impressed with Lukes!

This girls is fun.

Look at these two! Mom is wearing one of the necklaces from my recent post. I gave it to her for her birthday.

We had a boat day with friends last weekend. The kids rode in this thing all the way back from Morris Island. It was cute watching their little blond head bob around.


We got to see some dolphins strand feeding on the back side of Morris Island. This is a rare behavior that only dolphins in SC perform. They basically circle the fish and push them onto shore. Then they throw themselves onto shore and feast away. They only do it in sandy/muddy spots with gentle slopping banks. They rarely do it if they know they have a crowd so it was pretty cool to see last week. You really have to zoom in to see this well. I took these with my phone so it’s a little hard to see exactly what’s going on.

Veggie Enchiladas

I made some yummy veggie enchilada’s this week. I filled soft taco shells with squash, zucchini, onions, red pepper and cheese. I topped them with enchilada sauce and baked them for about 20 minutes on 350. Serve with sourcream, salsa and avocado.

img_4631img_4633

Recently I mentioned that my father in law and sister in law are “pretty good” musicians. Well, that is a gross understatement. They are fantastic, amazing musicians. Jim has been playing since he was a teenager. He’s been in many bands over the years. Dallas can play about 8 different instruments and has been known to learn a new instrument in a short period of time if her band needed her too. She also has a beautiful voice. I love when either of them pulls their guitar out. Here is our little guitarist first song . . .

MUST WATCH SHOW ON NETFLIX

It’s amazing. I just finished the available seasons. Loved it.

MV5BMTQ0NDA4NjE5MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTkzNTA5MzE@._V1_UY268_CR4,0,182,268_AL_

stay_true_to_yourself

 

Contact: laurenskijones@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Peer Pressure

  1. Your kids are very ready for school, little teacher!
    Can’t wait to see what cake Fleet has for his birthday.
    Those dolphins were amazing!
    Just keep the kids talking to you throughout their lives and each issue that arises can be handled together with discussion and with prayer.
    Your mom is beautiful.

    Like

Let me know your thoughts

