Uncategorized

The first week of SUMMER

It’s been a busy week, as normal. The first week of summer! Sleeping in 30 minutes later feels like 3 hours!

It’s been awhile since I posted a garden update . . . All the cherries blooming so far are yellow. I thought I had planted some red. I guess we will have to wait and see as most of them are still green. We had to pull the squash as they were destroyed by squash bores. We have gotten a bunch of squash.

Luke brought this broccoli plant home from school around Christmas. It finally has a bud!

I tried a couple of recipes this week but this is the only one I liked. 

Cinnamon Crumb Banana Bread

I made a double batch. I put one loaf in the freezer and ended up pulling it out the next night because we had devoured the first loaf! The crumb topping is so yummy! I actually found the last piece this morning with the topping missing and big Luke claiming that all he did was “cut a piece off” . . . yeah, the crumb topping piece!

Ingredients

    • 1 egg
    • 1 cup sugar
    • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla
    • 1/2 cup buttermilk
    • 2 overripe bananas, mashed
    • 2 cups all purpose flour
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
Crumb Topping:
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

Directions

In a large bowl of a mixer, fitted with a paddle attachment, beat together the sugar, egg and vanilla until combined. Add the butter and beat until smooth and the butter is fully incorporated. Beat in the buttermilk and bananas.

In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon. Slowly stir the dry ingredients into the wet until all the flour is incorporated. Spray a loaf pan with non-stick spray and pour in the batter. * Note that not all loaf pans are the same size. You may have extra batter, so just pour in enough so there is still about an inch or 2 of space before the top of the pan.

Make the crumb topping by combining the powdered sugar, flour, cinnamon salt and melted butter. Using your hands, crumble the mixture over the batter in the pan. Bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for 45 – 50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Kid Fun

This was their first week of summer and their first week with their new nanny, Amelia. It’s my goal to get them out of the house on my days off so that they will be more content to be home on the days she is there. We had a lot of fun this week.

We went to the Splash Pad at the James Island County park with the Prestons and had a great time. I realized long ago that I am at least a partial introvert which means that sometimes social situations can be draining. Unless they are with my closest friends (you know, the kind that love you no matter what crazy stuff comes out of your mouth!), in which case they are relaxing and energizing.

We met some friends at The Alley this week. They have free games from 5-8 on Wednesdays and the kids had so much fun. My kids had never really played these types of games before so it was fun explaining how to play pac-man and skeeball. They loved it. I enjoyed doing something a little different from the normal play date. Look how cute they all are. . .(Fleet and Luke on either end)

I wanted to spend some special time with lil Luke. He had some behavior problems this week and while it was nothing unreasonable I wanted to be sure that it wasn’t because he wasn’t getting enough positive attention. So, Fleet went to Gigi (my mom’s) house for Friday night. I ended up having quality time with all three kids and getting time to appreciate each of them. Here is what our day looked like. . .

Fleet went with me to see the North Face line for Spring 2017. He was amazing! He got to drink some hot tea (I don’t know why but he was super excited about this), watch a few shows and then ended up laying on the floor listening to music; some of his Aunt Dax’s music plus an oldie but goodie, mentioned below. It wasn’t a riveting experience for him but Gigi was taking him to the pool later so he could get some good play time.

img_3784-1

Aunt Dax music – super bluesy, jazzy, love her stuff

It’s tricky to rock a rhyme that’s right on time.

Luke and I went to TCBY and then to the beach with friends. We had a great time. It was steamy at our house but perfect at the beach. It ended up being a late night but that’s what I love about summer! Bedtime at 9pm is no big deal!

img_3789

Luke has said some super funny stuff this week. He asked me if we could see Columbia if we had some binocuwas.

He said he wanted to write a letter to his teachers to tell them that he loved them so much, so much, so much and thank you for everything but he was moving on to a much more fun school. I am not sure that they would appreciate this letter.

He also said that “Mrs Arissa (Marissa) was mean to him when he was bad but Mrs Maarget (Maragret) was nice.” This is funny if you know the teachers. No one there was ever mean to him. Thank goodness for “Mrs. Arissa” or he would have ruled the school and turned everyone into superhero -bad guys.

Also, one of his teacher is Mr. Jeremy who he calls Mr Germy, just because he still has some cute little baby talk that I know will disappear any day now.

And look at this precious pea. What a sweetheart. She just sat on the beach, ate pirate booty and played with shells.

img_3848-1img_3845-1

I’m thankful tonight for all the friends I got to see this week (and those I didn’t!). How much better parenting is with these people! And for the grandparents for loving my kids so much.

441625167-summer-quotes-8

Happy first week of Summer!

Contact: laurenskijones@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

Let me know your thoughts

