Uncategorized

Thoughts and stuff

We’ve been so busy the last 4 or 5 weeks. Elle’s party last weekend was the last major thing that we have going on for awhile. It was all fun but I am glad to be getting back to a little more of a normal routine.

Here’s what has been going on  . . .

PLAY

Fleet had his last soccer game. Getting a trophy or “piston cup,” as all trophies are called at our house, was the highlight of the season!


We got to play at the beach one afternoon this week.

FOOD

All good southerners have a tomato pie recipe in their repertoire. Otherwise, what would we eat all summer…besides BLT’s of course?! I made this pie this week which was basically a tomato pie with more veggies. Everyone liked it. It’s a keeper.  (I’m still working on how to take a good food pic so this one is from the website where I found the recipe.)
Garden_Vegetable_Pie61

Ingredients

  • 1 (9-inch) prebaked deep dish pie shell
  • 3 tomatoes, peeled and sliced (Roma work best) (I did not peel them-LPC)
  • 1 small zucchini, sliced into rings
  • 1 small yellow squash, sliced into rings
  • 1/2 cup sliced sweet or red onion
  • 10 fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • 1 cup grated mozzarella
  • 1 cup grated cheddar
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise (or half mayo, half Greek yogurt) (I did the half/half option and it was perfect-LPC)
  • 2 Tbsp fresh grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Salt and pepper

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Place the tomatoes in a colander in the sink in 1 layer. Sprinkle with salt and allow to drain for 10 minutes. Use a paper towel to pat-dry the tomatoes and make sure most of the excess juice is out. (You don’t want wet (juicy) tomatoes or your pie will turn out soggy).
  3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Season zucchini and squash with salt and pepper. Saute the squash in a single layer for 2-3 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Remove to a paper towel.
  4. Layer the tomato slices, zucchini, squash, and onion on the bottom of the pie shell. Sprinkle basil on top. Combine the grated cheeses and mayonnaise together. Smooth cheese mixture over the top and sprinkle parmesan cheese on top. Bake for about 30 minutes or until lightly browned. Allow to cool for at least 10 minutes.
  5. To serve, cut into slices and serve warm.

Two nights a week Luke is on his own for dinnertime. I usually try to have some leftovers so he doesn’t have to cook anything but occasionally I come home to some pretty interesting creations. I think he enjoys cooking but noone really enjoys it when your kids are tugging at your heels and whining that they are “starving.” He is a very creative cook. He never follows a recipe and can take just about any random ingredients from the fridge and turn them into something yummy and interesting. Here is what I came home to this week. These crawfish came from the swamp at Middleton Place. They tasted like unsalty shrimp.

img_3360-2

THOUGHTS

I finished the book I was reading, Goldfinch. It was a spectacular story . . . entertaining and captivating though depressing and just plain sad at times. The story is incredible and I am often amazed that authors can weave such tales. Here are a few “thought provoking” quotes from the book that stood out to me . . .

“As it was, she died when I was a kid; and though everything that’s happened to me since then is thoroughly my own fault, still when I lost her I lost sight of any landmark that might have led me someplace happier, to some more populated or congenial life.” My thoughts: That’s what our family is to us, right? Our landmark, our lighthouse.

“It’s not about outward appearances but inward significance. A grandeur in the world, but not of the world, a grandeur that the world doesn’t understand. That first glimpse of pure otherness, in whose presence you bloom out and out and out.” I think this is about love but even after rereading I am having a hard time grasping the authors meaning, though I love the quote. Any ideas?

“Whatever teaches us to talk to ourselves is important: whatever teaches us to sing ourselves out of despair.” My thoughts: I have a few small things that I enjoy and have come to realize make a huge difference to me on a daily basis. Burning a candle and putting on Pandora can change this stressed out mama dramatically. Something in me believes that candles are peaceful and meant for quiet dinners and christmas and late nights on the porch. If I burn one in the afternoon when the kids are going bonkers and I’m about to pull my hair out, it relaxes me. And music. I am not a musician and I definitely cannot carry a tune (Luke will turn the radio up if I start singing along!). But listening to music has the same effect as burning a candle. Obviously, I am not talking about real despair here. (My children are tough at times but they don’t cause me despair, I hear that will come around the teenage years, ha!) However, I think it is the same for despair, that’s its important that we find and that we allow each other to find what “sings” us out of despair.

“That maybe even if we’re not always glad to be here, it’s our task to immerse ourselves anyway: wade straight through it . . . while keeping eyes and hearts open.” My thoughts: I agree and I hold back too often.

LOOKING FORWARD

I’m looking forward to movie night tonight with the kids, an easy Saturday and maybe a River Dogs games on Sunday. Happy Friday!

contact: laurenskijones@gmail.com

One thought on “Thoughts and stuff

  1. I didn’t know you were reading The Goldfinch. I have been trying to finish it for a few weeks now. It started out so good then got so depressing. Does it get better again? That 2nd quote “It’s not about outward appearance………”> From my perspective, I would say that it is how I feel as a Christian. As a Christian, you are reborn to a new life. You are no longer of this world; you live in this world but you are not of this world. This is our temporary home. Our real home is our eternal home with our triune God. God the creator, Jesus our Savior & the Holy Spirit that dwells within us, guiding & directing us.

    Love all the pictures. Nice sandcastle! Not to sure about the pizza. ha! I made that guinoa, black bean, tomato salad today. YUM! Enjoy the rest of your weekend. We are finally seeing some sunshine up at LL. Hugs & Kisses & most of all LOVE to y’all! Gigi

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know your thoughts

