Uncategorized

For all of her tininess . . .

. . .Couldn’t disguise a heart so enormous and wild and wise.

That is my girl.

Sunday we threw our last FIRST birthday party and our first little girl party. It really was so fun and special. I had the thought right before the party that here we are, throwing her first birthday party. We will blink our eyes and Luke will be walking her down the isle. Time, please slow down.

We got lucky with the weather, 75 and sunny. We had about 30 people (including us), 10+ were crazy little kiddos. They had a blast playing baseball, swinging and riding “motorcycles” in the backyard. Here are some pics from the day.

img_3484

The FOOD

I pre-made everything on Saturday. I forgot to take pictures but I grabbed some images from the respective websites and included them below along with links to the recipes. Everything turned out yummy! I realized later that I forgot to put the fruit out that was mainly for the kids.

Overnight Sausage, Egg and Cheese Casserole

I will definitely be making this again. It was delicious and only had a few ingredients! It would be perfect for Thanksgiving or Christmas breakfast. And thank goodness for great neighbors who let us store stuff in their garage fridge and then cooked this for us because my oven was full!

IMG_0045

Egg, Ham and Spinach Crockpot Casserole

I have made this several times, usually for a holiday breakfast. It’s healthier than  a traditional breakfast casserole (especially if you omit the ham, which I never do). It has greek yogurt and lots of veggies.

SONY DSC

Blueberry Croissant Puff

My friend Kirby told me about this one. She said it has become a staple for them and her husband loves it. I don’t think I made it quite right (be sure to really soften the cream cheese and them mix it all together after you pour on top) because the cream cheese was clumpy rather than smooth and creamy. I will be giving this another go.

blueberry-croissant-puff-1020x1024

My MIL made grits casserole which was a big hit! I will ask her for the recipe and post later because I couldn’t find it. I had several people tell me that they don’t like grits but they loved her casserole. UPDATE: Here is the recipe

1 cup grits
4 cups water
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 lb sausage
2 eggs – beaten
1 cup grated cheddar cheese
1 can mild green chilies (I use 4 oz can but recipe calls for 8 oz)
1 clove garlic minced
1/8 tsp black pepper

Brown sausage in skillet. Prepare grits using first 3 ingredients and following package directions for cooking time. Combine remaining ingredients and pour into 9×13 greased casserole dish. Bake at 350 for 35-45 minutes. Can be made the night before and refrigerated but must bring back to room temperature before putting in oven.

I ended up ordering her cake from Publix. It turned out cute but it wasn’t exactly what I wanted. It was my first time ordering a cake so next time, I will know to be VERY specific. It’s still cute and she liked it!

img_3506-1

I ran out of time to make or order her a cute outfit, as I had mentioned in my earlier “Party Planning” post. I do love this little outfit though. I am hoping my FIL took some pics so I can post a few more of the birthday girl. He’s the photographer and I always rely on him to get a few good shots.

Grateful

To all of our family and friends who have made this year easier and better, thank you.You have made us meals, watched our kids and listened to endless rants about how tired and worn out we are. The weekends with Papa and Natalie, nights with Baba and Gigi and days with Tutu have given us a chance to recharge and revitalize and most importantly, to sleep. Our friends have brought us food and taken our kids to the beach or down the street. Even after we have come over and destroyed their houses and left in melt down mode, they have still invited us back, thank you.

image-26

We are grateful for our village.

 

Contact: laurenskijones@gmail.com

 

 

 

Let me know your thoughts

