Uncategorized

11 years ago today . . .

I married the person who feels like home.

Friday we dropped our kids off with Papa (Luke’s Dad) and Natalie and headed up to Natalie’s lake house on Lake Thurmond. It has been so relaxing. We’ve spent most of the time on the porch staring at this.

I love being at the lake. It reminds me of some of the best parts of my childhood . . . cruising around Lake Murray on the boat, knee boarding, skiing, late night rides listening to Common Thread (one of my all time favorite albums) and swimming, swimming with the endless energy of childhood.

I went for easy with the food this weekend. I feel like I normally spend 90% of my time preparing food for people. So I went to Whole Foods and splurged on pre-made foods . . . Sonoma chicken salad, smoked gouda pasta salad. Ever since studying abroad and France, I have loved eating bread and cheese for dinner so this is what we had on Friday night; Cowgirl Creamery Mt Tam with rosemary bread, fig jam, salami and olives. My mouth is watering as I’m typing. I first had this cheese when visiting my BF Sarah in Boulder and it is CRAZY good. We grilled beef tenderloin steaks for dinner paired with a Pinot Noir from Carneros in Napa Valley, Cuvaison. Grapes from this region make the best pinot noir and it has become our special occasion wine.

This is day two on the cheese plate so it’s not as pretty (plus we were on the boat) but still tasty! Highly recommend this wine!

 

This girl is relaxed . . . thanks Papa and Natalie.

11 years, 3 amazing kids, tons of memories, I really can’t sum it up quickly except to say that this relationship makes me feel like I can do anything, be anything and handle anything that life throws at me. We have a lot of support from family and friends and I can’t be grateful for my marriage without being grateful for all of these people too.

Contact: laurenskijones@gmail.com

 

Let me know your thoughts

